Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve updated this thing. School took so much of my time and energy, and add to that promoting the book, that I just couldn’t stand the thought of adding to all that with more activity. But school is done and the book is going smoothly (two awards won, so far) that I feel I can start looking forward again and commit the regular posting.

Right now, one of my main focuses is finding a job. Yes, even award-winning authors need a day job, especially award-winning authors with two student loans to pay off. I’ve been sending out resumes for job postings and I’ve even begun cold contacting companies I’d like to work for, using my best business-style writing to beg for a job. If anyone knows of a company looking for a good information professional, please leave a comment. I will knit a pair of custom socks for anyone who helps land me a good job.

The other thing I’m working on is my next book: actually, my next two books. I’m writing them simultaneaously, because I just can’t stick to one or the other. Whenever I try to settle on one, the other starts to tug at my brain, so I’ve just given in and begun working on them both. One of the books is my next non-fiction, a work on textile history. I’m still in the research phase right now, which is perfect because it’s a break from writing. The other book is a novel, my first fiction book. I don’t want to get into specifics yet, because I’m still fleshing it out with the help of Sarah Domet’s book 90 Days to Your Novel, which sounds gimicky, but is a very helpful book.

Hopefully, this isn’t my last post for another year. I’ll post about some of the events I’ve done and the progress on each of my books a bit later, but for now I just wanted to get back into the blogging mindset.

